Eagle Scout Pin Collection
   "Once An Eagle, Always An Eagle"
Eagle Scout Pin Collection

Adams National Eagle Scout
Service Project of the Year Award:

The National Eagle Scout Association has established the Glenn A. and Melinda W. Adams National Eagle Scout Service Project of the Year Award to recognize valuable service of an exceptional nature by a Scout to a religious institution, a school, community, or other entity.

Each year, about 50,000 Scouts receive the Eagle Scout Award. That means that every week, several hundred Scouts around the country—and even around the world—are completing their Eagle Scout leadership service projects.

Every Eagle service project is impressive, but some are truly exceptional. To recognize the best of the best, NESA has established the Glenn A. and Melinda W. Adams National Eagle Scout Service Project of the Year Award. Conceived and supported by NESA President Glenn Adams, the winner of the national award will be presented each May during the NESA Americanism breakfast at the BSA’s National Annual Meeting.

Here is how the selection process works: By January 21 of each year, any Scout who passed his Eagle Scout board of review during the previous calendar year may submit his project to his local council’s NESA committee for consideration. (His parents or Scout leaders may also submit the project with the Scout’s approval.)

By February 28, each council’s NESA committee will forward one winner’s application to the regional NESA committee for consideration. Four regional winners will be selected by March 31, and a single national winner will be named by April 15.

Each application must be accompanied by a complete copy of the applicant’s Eagle Scout Leadership Service Project Workbook. Judges will consider many factors, including scope, originality, achievement of the planned result, and the project’s impact on the community.

The Adams award brings prestige, and it also brings more tangible awards.

  • Each council winner will receive a framed certificate and a bronze device for his Eagle Scout square knot. In addition, his name will be added to a perpetual plaque located in the council service center or another council facility.

  • The three regional winners who do not win the national award will receive a framed certificate, a gold device for the Eagle Scout square knot, and $500 to pay for future educational expenses or fees at a national or international Scouting event or facility. Each of their local councils will also receive $500.

  • The national winner will receive a plaque, a silver device for his Eagle Scout square knot, and a cash award of $2,500. His council will also receive a $2,500 award.